RCM MUSIC

FOR REVIEW

Instructions for usage.

  1. Review the submissions and find something you love

  2. If the submission includes the word 'paid' at the bottom it means they are open to paying for reviews by freelance writers like you

  3. Contact them directly using the supplied email address using the subject line RCM Review

  4. We charge £5 per review payment should be arranged directly between you and the artist via PayPal

  5. Once you have contacted an artist add your name in the database 'Reviewers Name Column' so other writers don't contact them 

TerraTara

Release Date

TerraTara is a half-Italian/half-Irish, Canadian/American, singer/songwriter. She plays mandolin, guitar, piano and all types of percussion. Her style is versatile, ranging from traditional Eastern European to Middle Eastern to Americana Folk.

In the 90’s she wrote many singer/songwriter compositions. Then in the 2000’s, she shifted her focus to traditional world music, however continued to write originals. She started learning melodies of traditional Eastern European, Middle Eastern, Indian and Irish music. She blends all those in her music today.

In 2005, she formed the band, Mahzu. They played a variety of traditional and original pieces, as well as moving between genres. It was a fun mix of accordion, dancehall beats and memorable vocals, padded with guitar, banjo and mandolin. They played many festivals all across British Columbia such as Shambala Music Festival, Komasket Music Fest, Starbelly Jam, Littlefest, Koots Roots Culture Fest, Sinxt Barter Faire, as well as many bars, cafes, and outdoor markets.

TerraTara quit playing music professionally when her drummer died of lung cancer in 2011. She has taken a hiatus for many years but is now motivated to produce her singer/songwriter material, both old and new. She plans on releasing these in the coming decade, so get ready! The first one, “Ain’t Gonna Let Them”, is out now as a video and streamed audio, Oct 2020.

TerraTara

TerraTara

Artist

Free

Alex Crittenden

Release Date

undefined“Infectious indie rock with a funk-inspired rhythm and a bittersweet lyrical edge.”undefined

 

Alex Crittenden is a singer-songwriter born in London and now based in Liverpool. He developed original songs as a Westfield Presents artist during more than 30 hours of live acoustic stage performances in London from 2018 to 2019, and has since performed at venues including Dingwalls, the Indigo O2, and the VIP lounge at Wembley Stadium.

In 2018 he won the Gibson Prize for most promising newcomer in the Gigs10 Busk in London competition judged by amongst others singer-songwriter Newton Faulkner.

 

A live demo of his first original single "Can We Just Talk?" was released on Spotify in November 2018, and gained 130,000 listeners. He performed the song at the 2018 Open Mic UK competition and progressed to the national grand final in January 2019. Alex was invited onto BBC Music Introducing for an interview and to perform live in session, and was included on the BBC Introducing National Hot List.

 

In late 2019 he moved to Liverpool, where he’s had regular gigs at Ten Streets Social, and has tried out new material at the Cavern Pub open mic. In 2020 he has developed his sound from acoustic to a blend of indie rock with strong soul, jazz and sometimes reggae influences, combined with a funk-inspired rhythm and his trademark bittersweet lyrics. His songwriting influences include Tom Misch, Sam Fender, Bruce Springsteen, Alex Turner and Chris Martin.

 

His single "Cross the Line" is available on Spotify. His upcoming single "Profound" is released on 4th December and his single "Don't Call Me" is scheduled for early 2021.

 

"This guy's smashing it... we are very very excited about him." - BBC Music Introducing.

"Fantastic voice... talented songwriter... truly authentic sound." - Open Mic UK.

 

Links:

Spotify artist page: https://open.spotify.com/artist/46JmoLsshREiwJ5WoKus4U

Website bio: https://www.alexcrittenden.info/bio

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/ac.wave

 

Alex Crittenden

Alex Crittenden

Artist

Paid

Brother Sea

Release Date

BROTHER SEA:

 

Brother Sea are a Celtic-folk band that brings together the acclaimed duo Harbottle & Jonas, award winning songwriters Kris Lannen and Richard Trethewey, the haunting tones of Annie Baylis, Henry Cavender on drums and Scotland’s talented Calum Ingram on cello.

Their music is that of departure, adventure and new beginnings, sweeping you away with a sense of boldness and innocence with hypnotic vocals accompanied by classic folk instruments. Brother Sea create a sense of awe and intrigue with songs like campfire stories exploring heritage and folklore as they gently flicker through captivating soundscapes.

 

ROYAL PARADE:

 

Brother Sea recorded their Christmas single Royal Parade on a beautiful cold and sunny winter’s day in Port Isaac overlooking the Atlantic Ocean in the historical space of St Peter’s Church.

They are releasing the song, written by Freya Harbottle, on the 7 Dec for the homeless charity Shelter. It is a song that seeks to celebrate all the good that can be found within a story that will never grow old. Amongst the modern stresses and busyness of Christmas, there are also threads of gentleness, wonder, humility, love and peace that have been weaving their way through all of humanity in each advent and winter since the beginning of time.

During this unprecedented season of advent and Christmas, where many of us find ourselves separated from those we love or have lost, we hope this song serves as an encouragement to watch for the goodness of light. For the small, gentle glow of a flame that flickers in the darkness; whatever the light may mean for you and wherever it may be found…

 

"If Fleetwood Mac had grown up on a pirate ship theyd sound like this” - Ed Leigh / Presenter BBC SKI SUNDAY

 

"A confluence of the old and the new. Intricate guitars, yearning lyrics, soaring strings, a beautiful harmony of passionate voices and I am transported to rolling hills, limestone cliffs, an angry ocean. This is what music is meant to make us feel, so very full.” - Joel McKerrow / Poet & Author Of Woven

Kris Lannen

Kris Lannen

Artist

Paid

De La Love

Release Date

We love you, we love happy lives, we are De La Love.

 

We are a 4 piece collective funk, dance and indie pop collective comprised of bass, guitar's, sax, drums, vocals and everything wonderful inbetween.

 

Our latest single 'Face on a Face' is dropping to all major platforms on January 1st 2021 alongside its music video.

 

As huge we would be an honour if you guys at RCM wrote a review of our latest single 'Face on a Face' in the run up to its much anticipated release! This release is going to be shortly followed our other extremely exciting drop of 'Mandalas' currently being featured on the new Cellarsmiths Jewellery Advert.

 

We hope to hear from you soon,

 

All the love, Always,

 

De La Love

Sebastian Westbrook Naylor

Sebastian Westbrook Naylor

Artist

Paid

Thaores

Release Date

Thaores is a singer / songwriter & content creator.

Thaores stand for The Art Of Resurging and seeks to create uplifting, thought provoking tunes.

She studied music & classical violin from early on, but performing solo or being in the spotlight proved a torturous experience. "When singing, I always secretly hoped the music is loud enough so nobody can hear me... that is how terrifying it felt."

After owning her identity and finding her voice she hopes to make a difference & inspire others. "There is a Light that dissipates any fear. It says: I see you, I hear you, I love you. This light dwells inside you".

Thaores has debuted with 'The Broken Umbrella' in 2016, testing the waters of the ever evolving music industry landscape. "I wasn't sure how I can make it work as an independent artist, and I wasn't convinced that anyone else knew. Or course everybody was trying to tell you this or that is the way."

In 2020 Thaores released 'Celebrate Christmas' single as part of a longer-term strategy as a musician.

Thaores

Thaores

Artist

Free

Steve Larkman

Release Date

NEW RELEASE

 

December Song 2020 by Steve Larkman - Release Date Nov. 27th 2020

 

ISRC: GBGEE2000013

 

Steve Larkman is a Songwriter and Producer from Kingston upon Hull. He has released 7 Albums and over 25 Singles and has worked with Virgin Records and EMI Publishing. If you want to know/hear more of Steve please search online on iTunes, Bandcamp, Spotify, Facebook, Instagram, Pandora (USA only) and many other providers. He is currently releasing his work alongside Kobalt/AWAL/AMP records. He has also uploaded cover versions of some of his fave songs on 'Steve Larkman Videos' on YouTube.

 

 

 

For complete audio catalogue of Steves original music go to:

 

https://stevelarkman.bandcamp.com/

 

 

See also - stevelarkmanmusic - on:

 

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/stevelarkmanmusic/

Twitter

Instagram

Tumblr

Youtube https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpZ8n909LoAugz_Xn90hVKQ

 

Search Steve's profiles on:

Spotify https://open.spotify.com/artist/451tRc86Zp28twMLVHv22v

Apple

Pandora (US only)

iTunes

Amazon

Napster

Deezer

KKBOX

Beatport

Daddy Kool

and others

 

email Steve at : angelmusicplus@ hotmail.com

 

OR: Angie at: angelmusicplus@hotmail.co.uk

 

 

 

Angie

Angie

Manager

Free

NEEDSHES

Release Date

Thanks a lot for featuring "Superstar" on the Lost On Radio Podcast and Spotify playlist last year!

 

The alt-rockers NEEDSHES are releasing a new creative banger on December 10.

It's called "DSLS" (stands for Does Somebody Love Somebody).

These guys are originally from Uzbekistan, currently based in Moscow.

 

The frontman defined it as "a symbiosis of Pink Floyd, David Bowie (esp. Black Star), Chemical Brothers, Gorillaz, Kool & the Gang, Bee Gees, and Wu-Tang Clan".

 

It’s a dancing tangle of thoughts about where we go when poverty and famine co-exist with mass consumption, showbusiness, politics, driven by a thirst for profit.

 

More about the release and Biography in the Press Release: https://bit.ly/2UD4Tlb

 

There also will be a Music Video (by release date).

 

Latest news: In 2020 the band released 5 singles that have been featured on PopMatters, Indie Mixtape by UPROXX, American Songwriter, RIFF Magazine, idobi Radio, Alt Press, Hayes FM (UK), Amazing Radio, Cashbox Radio. In October, they performed online on the showcases Indie Week, Canada, and Mondo NYC.

 

Thanks a lot! Hope you genuinely enjoy it!

Hannah

Artist Manager

Hannah Danilova

Hannah Danilova

Manager

Paid

The China Blue

Release Date

Massachusetts born Seth Mykel Marques composes, performs and produces The China Blue. Consisting of constant synth pop melodies with a combination of higher pitched tones. Resembling artists such as Joji, Tame Impala, & The 1975.

 

The China Blue is currently based out of Providence, RI in the USA..

Tyler Donovan

Tyler Donovan

Manager

Free

Madishu

Release Date

Hello,

My name is Madishu, I am a 20-year old singer-songwriter.

We just released a Christmas song called secret santa and i was wondering if you would be interested in featuring it on your magazine webpage.

I am an independent artist without a label or a managing team and it would mean the world to me if that could be possible.

I believe that dreams come true, especially around Christmas and I believe in my music.

I hope that you will at least give our song a listen and I hope to hear back from you soon.

Thank you so so much for your time and I wish you wonderful holidays.

 

 

MADISHU, DAVID THENI AND UNWRITTEN JUST RELEASED secret santa ON DECEMBER 1

“This year has been hard on everyone and because of the current circumstances Christmas may look different this year. We wrote this song to end 2020 with a good tune and new positive energy and to bring a smile on your face.” - Madishu.

1 DECEMBER 2020 - Singer-songwriter Madishu, Unwritten and producer David Theni released a highly anticipated digital-only Christmas Single.
With a new approach, they managed to give us a new interpretation of a classic Christmas tune. This was not the first time David Theni and Madishu worked together on a single. Always having the perfect tune for every holiday they united again after previously releasing “Halloween”.

 

BIO

Born in Moldova and currently living in Vienna, 20-year old singer-songwriter Madishu has always been passionate about music and art. She says: “I was never really good at sciences, but I was always creating music, paintings, drawings, clothes, you name it” In middle school thought about becoming a fashion designer, despite that she was always actively being part of most musical activities at her school and in her city. Completed her first year of high school in an art vocational high school in Moldova and while studying there got selected to be part of an exchange program. During her exchange year in the USA she decided to take songwriting seriously and there performed, for the first time in front of an audience, at a school concert, one of her original songs in tribute to her family across the ocean and got featured in the school newspaper. “As an artist, I want to make people feel something when they see my art or listen to my songs. If you are angry at my painting, good. When I got off the stage after performing my song in front of an audience and I saw everyone with tears in their eyes and smiling, I knew for sure, that was what I wanted to do, be on the stage. It was such a powerful experience that I will never forget” When back from the USA, together with her family moved to Vienna, where she begun her songwriter study at University. In March 2020, Madishu released her first single “Let the Rain Fall”.

 

Madalina Cretu

Madalina Cretu

Artist

Free

Cat Lines

Release Date

Cat Lines is a violinist and singer/songwriter from Texas, based out of the Hudson Valley. She is most known for her work as a fiddle player & backing vocalist for country/rock band "Raquel & the Wildflowers", who has opened for internationally known artists such as Jessic Lynn and Andy Grammer. Cat began her solo project this year and promises more music in 2021. Below you will find the official press release for her upcoming single "It'll Still be a Merry Christmas"

 

Having just released her debut single ”Let ‘em Talk”, which was featured on Southern Fellow and UK radio, Hudson Valley-based singer/songwriter Cat Lines is following up with an acoustic country/pop Christmas ballad that hits home for many this year. “It’ll Still be a Merry Christmas” brings all the nostalgia of past holiday seasons while touching on some very recent fears; such as the inability to be back with loved ones due to COVID-19. This song draws on the styles of Taylor Swift, Garth Brooks, and Ed Sheeran, with its personal, powerful lyrics, enchanting violin moments and choral harmonies.

Cat says about the writing process that “I realized there was the very real possibility that, due to the risks and restrictions associated with COVID-19, I would not be able to travel home to Texas for the holidays, making this almost a full year since I’ve visited my family. As an exercise, I began writing down a list of all the things I love about the holidays, and the song sort of grew out of that, out of a desire to still make this year something special. It touches on a feeling that I think a lot of people are experiencing right now, and tries to spin it in the most positive light.”.

You can keep up with Cat on Facebook and Instagram @catlinesmusic, and you should-she promises new music in the New Year, and can’t wait to expand on the themes she’s previously introduced. “It’ll Still be a Merry Christmas” is available everywhere music is distributed, and we hope it will, indeed, be a Merry Christmas and happy (and safe!) Holiday Season for all.

Facebook/Instagram: @catlinesmusic

Website: Catlinesmusic.com

Find it on Spotify, AppleMusic, ITunes and more: https://distrokid.com/hyperfollow/catlines/itll-still-be-a-merry-christmas

Cat Lines

Cat Lines

Artist

Free

LearningToDive

Release Date

LearningToDive is a New Zealand based artist with musical themes' surrounding the genres of post-punk, 80’s pop and alt-rock. LearningToDive is the alter artistic identity of recently re-established musician, producer, vocalist and composer ‘Bravo Bonez’. Stylistically different from his usual music, LTD focuses on the more serious aspects of Bravos life and his perceptions of the world.

 

Being originally a UK citizen, LearningToDive has spent the last 20 years following the path of mammon, spending half of his life working between the cities of London and Wellington (New Zealand). Now permanently settled in the capital of NZ due to Covid-19, LearningToDive is spending his time helping to developing and encourage local musicians through owning and running his own music studio called ‘PureSound Studios’ as well as re-connecting with his own musical passion through a variety of stylistically different musical projects.

 

The release of ‘High & Dry’ on the 20th of November was LearningToDive’s first release under this musical identity, with his debut EP ready to share for early April 2021. LearningToDive collaborates with other musicians while making retro, lofi-beats under his usual artistic name Bravo Bonez, as well as creating cinematic, atmospheric pieces under the identity 'Haikyo'. LTD plans to start touring NZ in 2021 playing his music live while preforming with the violin, bass and guitar as well as singing. Watch this space for much more music and storytelling to come.

Rosie

Rosie

Manager

Paid

Emily Parish

Release Date

Hi! I'm a 24-year-old singer-songwriter originally from Somerset, but currently living in London. I've been in love with creating music since I was about 7, but have only thought about it as a career in the last few years.

 

In that time, I've graduated from university and opted to aim for a career that has nothing to do with my degree and being in an extremely competitive field - I evidently like the odds of lots of debt combined with a struggling-musician lifestyle..

 

I've also recently released my debut album titled: ‘How I Feel Now’, alongside an EP 'No Longer Losing Sleep' and two singles 'The Atlantic' and 'Sweeter'. The album reflects how I have changed over the last couple of years as an artist and singer-songwriter, progressing into more alt-pop and soft beats and whatever else I think sounds cool at the time.

 

Some of my favourite performances have included both Wild Paths Festival 2019 & 2020, Oxjam events, Banham Festival on the BBC Introducing Norfolk Stage & putting together my own gig alongside some other local acts in Norwich, as well as some incredible opportunities to chat and perform on the BBC Introducing Norfolk Radio Show. I have loved growing as a performer and the chance to engage with a variety of audiences at different venues and festivals, and I can’t wait for this aspect of UK Music to return in post-COVID life.

 

Emily xox

Emily Parish

Emily Parish

Artist

Free

FOLLOW US
  • Spotify
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram